Issue date:

Totara Partner Skills for Health, a national not-for-profit organisation who have just achieved Gold Partner status, recently launched the 2019 annual Our Health Heroes awards, a national healthcare award programme which celebrates individuals, teams and organisations within the healthcare and care and sectors.

Sponsored by Health Education England, the Our Health Heroes awards have been running for four consecutive years and this year promises to recognise even more unsung heroes who are the backbone of the UK health sector.

The team at Skills for Health, who provide sector specialist e-learning and learning management and compliance solutions based on Totara Learn, have this year introduced a dedicated award for Learning and Development teams, who are doing outstanding work within their organisation. The L&D project of the year award supports individuals and teams working in healthcare who are showing true innovation in learning and development projects for the benefit of patient care, service delivery and staff improvement – all key attributes to a worthwhile and inspiring L&D progamme.

Can I nominate someone?

Anyone can make a nomination for an individual, team or named project that they think should be rewarded for unique innovation in healthcare L&D.

Amongst the new L&D specialist awards, there are a further seven award categories which you can find hereAdam Causon, Executive Director of Skills for Health, launched the fourth annual awards at UNISON’s annual health conference, commenting:

“Our Health Heroes rewards teams and individuals who go above and beyond their usual remit to deliver high-quality care to patients and support to one another or their teams. If that sounds like someone you know, please make a nomination.”

L&D professionals from across the UK can be nominated by colleagues or members of the public via a simple form on the Skills for Health website. Entries will be shortlisted, and finalists will be chosen by an expert panel, before the winners are announced at the awards ceremony in November held at London’s Science Museum.